It was a second round of a new tournament in the Mondays club. I got an old foe, an aged guy with whom I recently drew in English Opening. I got Black again and we had the same variation of English Opening. I deviated from the book on move 8.

My 9… a5 was unnecessary, computer recommends Qd7 or d5. When I took on d5 on move 11 I thought that pawn on d5 will restrict his light colored bishop, but computer doesn’t like this move. Then I got an idea to get some initiative on the kingside. I put the bishop on f6 to prevent his knight getting to e6 or c6 squares after e4, then provoked him to exchange his knight for my bishop.

After he played 23. e3 I had to decide if I still want to play f4, eventually I played it. He didn’t take the f4 pawn with the bishop on move 26, probably saw Ng4+. After his 26. Qc4 the knight check was still playable leading to a draw after 26… Ng4+ 27. hxg4 Qh4+ 28. Kg1 f3, I didn’t see that line.

Then a crucial moment of the game came. He played 28. Bg4 instead of just taking on h5, what I would do. I moved my knight to g5 seeing that he can’t take on c8, that would leave h3 without defense. His next move, Be8, was a big mistake, but I didn’t realize that. My response, 29… Nf6, was much weaker that I could do here. Computer says 29… Rce8!! was winning the game.

The best reply 30. Rc2 was still losing due to 30… Nxh3! 31. Bxh3 Nf6 32. Kg1 Qxh3 33. Qxf4 Ng4 34. Qg3 Qxg3+ 35. fxg3 Rxf1+ 36. Kxf1 Ne3+. If White replies 30. Qxc7 then 30… Nf6 31. f3 Nxg4+ 32. fxg4 Re2+ 33. Kg1 Nxh3+ Kh1 Nf2+ 35. Kg1 Qg3#, etc. In some lines Black sacrifices the exchange on e1.

In the game after exchange on g4 and the knight check on f3 I still had some advantage, but then I went the wrong way exchanging the light pieces on e1 and then the queens. My hope was that 2 rooks vs 2 rooks endgame will have a drawing chances, but it didn’t quite work that way.

There was a moment when I could save the game. On move 45 and on 46 too I had to play b5! That would restrict his rook from getting to c4 and any rook activity would cost the queenside pawns for him, it was a clear draw. Instead I made a game losing check on f1 and after a several moves resigned.