It was a 3rd round in the Thursdays club. I got White and my opponent, a young man, played Sicilian d6. In the previous round I returned to Bb5+ and despite of misplaying the opening and losing the pawn, my general impression was good. I was feeling more comfortable than playing Closed Sicilian, so I decided to go for Bb5+ again.

He answered with Nc6 and the game transformed into one of the lines of the Rossolimo variation. Computer criticizes his 14… h5 as well as his 18… Qa5. After his 24… Nf5 I missed 25. b4! winning the knight. Interesting that when I played 26. Qe2 I had a feeling that he might play Rce8 and he did. I saw that I can safely take on c6 after the queen check on c4, as after 28. Qxc6 Rc8 I have Qd5. He made another mistake playing 27… d5.

On move 31 he blundered, I quickly checked that I have Bg1 defense after Rc1+ and took on f5. He continued to play and resigned only after I pinned his bishop.