It was the last round in the Mondays club and and I got the opponent that I didn’t expect as I got Black again. His King’s Gambit actually calmed me down instead of getting tense, as I played a lot of online games against it, though only two OTB. So after first three moves we got Nimzovich Variation. In this variation White tries to use its queenside pawn majority and Black the kingside one.

His 4. dxc6 was not a very good move, the best is 4. Nc3. After c4 I had a pre-move Bc7 if he would play c5, but when he did I saw Bxc5. It increased my advantage from ~-1.5 to ~-2. After 18. Nh5 I considered Qg4, but then decided that I have good chances with the queens on the board. Despite of that I played 20… Qd5, it was the best move. I have to say that he played very fast, almost only on 30 seconds increment. It didn’t give me any possibility to think on his time, so my time was going away quickly.

When he played 21. Qg3?, the crucial moment of the game came. Of course I saw Re5, but then I think I didn’t like 22. Bf4 probably because of 22… Rxh5 23. Bxd6 Bxd6 24. Rd1 not seeing that my bishop on d6 attacks his queen. This line is actually very bad and White is down two pieces. The better for White 22. Nf4 gives Black after 22… Rxg5 23. Nxd5 Rxg3 24. Nf6+ gxf6 25. hxg3 two pieces and pawn for the rook and a quick win according to shootouts.

I had to play 24… h6 instead of Qg4, but didn’t like my king’s position after 25. Bxh6 gxh6, though I would have two pieces for a rook. I forgot that I am already a pawn up. After his 26. Qxc6 I got tired of his 8th horizontal threats and played 26… Qc8 giving away all the advantage I would have after Bb6 which I missed.

After we exchanged queens I realized that the game is most probably drawn. He managed to win my “h” pawn, but all I needed was to move my king to the queenside which I did. The ensued rook endgame a- and b-pawns vs. a-pawn was theoretically drawn. After 65 moves my score missed some half-moves as I had less that 10 minutes and had to be quick. He had somewhat around 1 hour 15 minutes left.

I tried to be careful and hold the position. I had about 6 minutes left and played on increment. I told him at some point that I believe it is a draw. After 80 moves he came to the same conclusion. Funny that it reminded me a bit the last game before my one month break, when I let slip the advantage and ended up a pawn down in a drawn rook endgame.