It was a last round of Monday’s tournament. My opponent was an old guy, I had =1, -1 score with him. I got White and he played Sicilian. I played Rossolimo variation, but in this case the game looked more like Open Sicilian.

On move 21 I thought what to choose – Rxf3 or gxf3 and decided that if he exchanges on e5, then with the pawn on f3 e5 will be not isolated. On move 36 I had a choice of playing b5 or transferring into a bishop endgame, which I somehow considered better for him because of his possible activity on the kingside, but it was a draw.

Instead of 39… Bc7 the best was Rh7 with an equal play. After I won a pawn my next move was a huge mistake. 43… Rh2 with following Ra2 and a threat of mate on d2 was winning.Β This motif repeated later, that explains the title of my post.

45. f4 was again a game losing mistake, Rg2 was drawing, but I didn’t see the threat, he the same. I had 6 minutes left, he about 30. I considered b6, but thought that it is risky and decided to implicitly offer a draw repeating the moves. He did it for while, but then suddenly played Rh2. Now I saw the mate threat, but realized that I can’t do anything about it. I spent some time looking for improbable escape and then saw the I flagged.

