When I came to the club, I initially got a 1-point bye. I had a feeling that I am in a good shape and asked TD, should I go home or wait. He said maybe one guy will not come, I waited half an hour and eventually was paired with the boy who was waiting for that opponent.

I got White and after he chose Sicilian with Nc6 I played my favorite Rossolimo variation. His maneuver Nd7-f8-e6-d4  was good and I got a feeling that I am losing a thread of the game. I expected his f5 and he played it. It was a mistake, especially taking with a pawn 20… cxd4. I saw that I can force the exchange of the bishops and then take on f5. Then his 25… Kh8 was a crucial mistake as you will see, instead 25… Bf7 was -0.7.

I naturally played Rg3 and Ng4, then thought where my knight could jump. e5 looked like a good square with possible Ng6. Of course he didn’t take the knight after 29. Ng6+, because after 29… hxg6 30. Qh6+ he would lose the queen. But the winning move was 32. Nf2!! Qf6 33. Ne4 and Black loses because of the threat of queen check. I saw at some moment the threat on a1-h8 diagonal, but didn’t see how I can do that with him controlling e5 square, that backwards knight move never came to my mind.

Anyway I continued to pressure until he blundered with 34… Qg7. Then 37. Qc7 was the best move, winning b7 pawn as he couldn’t move his bishop because of Rg7. The intention of 42. g4 was to open up the play for the rooks. I can’t believe that I missed a mate in one on move 47, I even thought that I mixed up the score. I only can say that I had less than 10 minutes at that moment. Then having about 5 minutes left I started to play just on increment. I definitely could win faster, but the time pressure didn’t allow me to stop and think what is my plan.
Eventually my pieces took the right positions and when the result became inevitable he resigned.

 

