These games both were with 1700+ players, ended in perpetual forced by me, but were quite different.

The first was pretty quiet, still not without some internal tension. I knew my opponent for a long time, I played him in 2009-2010, +1, -1. I had White, Caro-Kann.

It was pretty equal unless I took his rook on d4, computer suggests calm Kh2. After 27. Ne5 he could play g5, but he went for a more simple continuation. I saw that if he takes on a2, I will have at least a perpetual after Qh5. I worried that he can play Nd2 instead of that, but after 29. Qxb7 Nf1+ 30. Kg1 all he had was perpetual.

He decided to take on a2 and after giving him a series of checks I had a dilemma – or force a perpetual or look for a win. I spent a lot of time, but didn’t find anything and having about 5 minutes vs. his 28 forced the perpetual.

The second game was with a boy, whom I beat a year ago, he progressed since that time. I had Black, Giuoco Piano. I don’t like now my plan with Be6 and Qf6, I think Nce7 and bishop on f5 or g4 is better.

I couldn’t move my bishop after 19. Neg5 because of Rxe7, so played c6. He lost his advantage after 23. Nd3 and I started to feel that I have some initiative, but there was  nothing decisive. Then, already having little time, I made a mistake playing 36… Qxf2, Nxd4 was the right move with an equality. I thought that I can play 37… Nxg3+ 38. hxg6 Rh6 with a mate, but missed that his rook on e6 will control h6. After 38. Rf1 I thought that I am about to lose a piece and then he played 39. Be4. At that moment I had 11 seconds and only could think about moving my queen. Intuitively I put it on e2 and after he played Rxf5 started giving checks and he offered a draw.

Right after the game finished people standing around started to tell me that I had a win after Nxg3+ and right, it was a mate in 3. It was ironical that I considered that move before, though with a bit different motif.

 

