I played this game on Monday, almost two weeks ago. I got an opponent to whom I lost some time ago. He had White and played Giuoco Piano.  His 5th move was not usual. I quickly considered  taking on e4, but it looked risky, so I decided to castle. It was still OK, though after 5… Nxe4 6. Bd5 Nf6 7. Nxc6 dxc6 8. Nxe5 it was equal and after 5… Nxe4 6. d4 d5 7. exd4 cxd4 I was better.

But then after 6. d4 I took on d4 and it was a mistake. 6… Bb6 was keeping the balance, after 7. dxe5 Ng4 9. Bf4 Qe8 9. Qd5 Ne7 10. Qd2 Ng6 Black was getting the pawn back. Even 6… Bd6 wasn’t bad at all.

After 8. e5 he got an advantage. 12. Ne7 was not a good move, d6 was better.  14. Nxd5 was a decisive mistake, only after it I saw the threat of f6 and Qg5. My position was indefensible and after his 24. Rxg7 the game was over.

I was disappointed that I forgot the lessons that I learned many years ago about not giving up the center in the Open games. It was also important lesson to calculate right from the opening. You should rely on your intuition when it is too difficult to calculate or you don’t have enough time, but here I had 90 minutes ahead of me, not even counting 30 seconds increment. After 5… Nxe4 he would never have that center.

 

