I unexpectedly got Black again in that round, so my opponent was also unexpected – the girl I lost to twice. Once I underestimated her and another time I gave up the perpetual for a “winning” move. She can play well, recently drew with a master and a couple of experts and is a current U14 girls Canadian champion.

We played Ruy Lopez, Chigorin variation. After Nxc4 I decided to take with the pawn, didn’t like her bishop getting to b3. I thought that d5 instead of pressure on e5 was making my life easier. Then I got an opportunity to get my knight on f4 and started to think about an attack.

Her 27. Rh1 was a big mistake, which I didn’t use. After 27… Rxc3 28. Qxc3 Bxh3 29. g3 Qh6 30. gxf4 exf4 31. Qd2 f3 32. Nf1 Qh4 33. Kg1 Bxa1 Black is much better. I saw the idea of Rxc3 without the details after she played Bb4 and decided to keep it in mind. After 30. Rac1 I saw 30… Rxb4 31. Qxb4 Ne2 with Qf4+ coming and calculated that because of the mate threat and her pieces on e3 and c1 hanging it should be a sound sacrifice.

It was, she played Qe1 and my task since then was not to let her win back the knight on e2. We exchanged the bishops, then the rooks. I thought that I should keep my queen, because B+N vs. R could get tricky if her rook will become active. Then she underestimated my attack in the center and made two crucial mistakes – 47. Qb8+ and 48. Qxd6. At that moment I had about 3 minutes left, but managed to stay calm and found the winning moves.

 

