It was a first round of a new tournament. I had a long, tiring trip on weekend before, but got some rest at home before the game. My opponent was the same guy I played in the first round of the  previous tournament.

I had White this time and he played Alekhine defense, he did that 4 months ago, I lost then. I went along the standard line this time, though my knowledge didn’t extend beyond the first few moves. Fritz thinks that 12. d5 was better than exd5, for some reason this move didn’t come to my mind. Then I saw the idea of c5, Nxd5, Bc4. He had to play 16… Rd7, after Ng5  I got an advantage. But then his 23. Be6 made probably too strong of an impression on me that his problems are over. Instead of Bxe6 much stronger was fxe5 and eventually I was winning h6 pawn.

But worse than that was my 31. Bxa7 instead of Rf6, which would give me a pawn. In shootouts in half of the games White wins and half is a draw. I could say that at that moment two people who already finished their game were discussing it and distracted me, so I told them about it, but the thing is I didn’t see it at all. It was a crucial moment in the game, as then the quality of my play deteriorated when I got about 15 minutes left and exhaustion finally showed up. I played a “positional” 39. Kf1 move and saw right away that I lose after Rc1+ and Rxc4.

