It was a last round and I really wanted to do well. My opponent was a young man. He replied with Nc6 to my e4, it was a first time I encountered Nimzowitch Defence. I didn’t want to go into Scotch, so chose a quiet positional line. Then we exchanged queens and light pieces. Eventually he got some pressure on e5.

I do not agree with computer that 22… g6 wasn’t a bad move, it seems me that 22… Nc5 or Nb6 was better keeping alive his bishop. You will see later how important it was.  Anyway, he had to play 23… Bc6 and I felt a relieve after 24. Nxc6. Then I saw e5. I calculated it deep enough to see that I probably win a pawn and so it happened. Then I didn’t use his Kf6 move to get an essential advantage after Rf3+ and Rfe1. 33… g5 was a bad move creating a weak pawn. Then I implemented the idea with doubling rooks on “f” vertical, but instead of that 36. Re5 was simply winning.

Anyway after 40 moves the position became technical. 49… Ne4 was a mistake that accelerated the end. Interesting that he played fast all the game and only after he got into real trouble started to think more, but it was already late. In the end I managed to “catch” his rook and after a few moves he resigned.

 

 

