It a Russian proverb which I like to use to describe this game.

I come to the club and get a bye. I say to TD that I want to play and after some time I get paired with the guy from the middle section. He plays something like Simagin-Larsen opening, here is the game.

Then he blunders with 13. Nd2 and I see that I can win an exchange. After queens exchange I find a plan with moving “a” pawn and creating a weakness on the queenside. It is successful and I win the “b” pawn. I know he will play Be4 with the idea of sacrificing on g6, he does it. I don’t like arising complications and play protective Rg8.

After rooks exchange I also know beforehand that he will play on the kingside and decide to ignore it. But then it starts to look very dangerous. I think about moving the king and see that wouldn’t help. I feel a “cold sweat” at some point and realize that I probably lost. It puts me almost in the panic mode, my face is probably red.
He is ahead on time too, I have ~22 minutes, he has 10 minutes more.

Something inside me tells me that I have to move the passed pawns.
Then after he gets passed “h” pawn I decide to play aggressive – whatever happens.
I see his Bh7 as a bad move and suddenly the idea of closing the diagonal by rook comes to my mind. I do it after his h6, seeing that we get queens simultaneously, but I also can get another queen.
So it happens. I have a choice of playing 48… Qg6, but think that it gives him more chances for a perpetual if one of my queens is far. After 50… Kc6 he has no more checks.
I exchange the queens and the game is over.

I am happy that I won, praise his play on the kingside, etc.
At home I find that I was winning all the time and his kingside plan was wrong.
It is the first time in my chess life I had so many new queens on the board – four.

