I played with the young, 25+ guy, had White. We got Sicilian defense, Moscow variation, here is the game. It looked like my opponent wasn’t familiar with it, spending a lot of time on every move, still finding the right ones. Then on a move 12 he thought no less than 50 minutes. I thought he was thinking about d5. Also I realized that he is rusty, didn’t play for a long time – it was an only explanation for all of this. Finally he played Ne5. When I played Rc1, I thought that maybe it’s not a good idea to place rooks ready for the fork, but decided to be careful and shoo off the knight soon. He had less than 20 minutes and accelerated. I had an hour more.

After d5 things started to happen faster.  I made a bad move Nxd5 that could cost me a game. He noticed after the game about 17… Rc1, but even then he didn’t realize how bad it was for me. After he missed a win, I managed to make probably one good move for the whole game – Nf5. After all the exchanges the pawn “a7” was here for me on the silver plate. But I didn’t like his Rc2 and didn’t use this chance. In the post-mortem he said that I could play Re2 after Rc2 and his knight is in a grave danger.

After 23… Nc6 he offered a draw. I looked at the position, at the clock (he had less than 15 minutes vs my ~ hour) and refused. I thought that the endgame bishop vs. knight that we came to is better for me, but it looks like I somewhat screwed it up. I the end I considered 39.  Bxf4+, but miscalculated, not seeing that he can move his “g ” pawn instead of “h” one and get the queen first. Anyway, he didn’t play it and after we both moved our pieces back he offered a draw again. He had about 3 minutes, I had 15-20, but I didn’t see any reason to continue playing and agreed. He said that he didn’t play for 5 years, in 2006 he played a lot including Canadian Open.

