My opponent yesterday was a master, I never played him before. I had White and he played Sicilian d6. It transformed into Rossolimo, here is the game. He played an early f5 and it put me on the defensive right away. I started to have problems with placing my pieces, though Houdini says I was alright even after exchange on f6. I think gxf6 was a bold move, since the attack is stronger on “g” vertical, than on “f” one.

14. Qe3 wasn’t  a very good move, still I could play. The move that lost the game was the next one, 15. Qg3. I told him that right after the game and computer confirmed that, except I do not believe that it is ~ -1. I don’t think you can save the arising position against a master. So, I got under strong attack and was down a pawn. I knew that I do not have any chance, just didn’t want to lose in 16 moves. So I resisted for a while. After he played e4, I thought for a while, than took my pawn, intending to capture and realized right away that I will lose the bishop. I didn’t make the move and resigned.

I played a similar game half a year ago with an expert. It was almost the same pawn structure, he also played f5 and attacked on the kingside.  I lost. I think that I have to find an antidote to this Black’s plan, if I want to continue playing Rossolimo against high rated opponents.

