My opponent yesterday was a young man, an expert, didn’t play officially for quite a few years.  I had Black and it was a first time I played against Bird’s opening, here is a game.  I had a pretty vague idea how to play and my a6 wasn’t a good move, Bd7 was better. It was like some kind of Rossolimo, that I like to play, was played against me.

After 12. Qg3 I decided that I can get under attack and have to do something to intercept the initiative. I decided to play c4, opening the play for my bishops, and in case 13. dxc4 dxc4 14. Nxc4 Bxc4 15. bxc4 his pawn wasn’t worth much. I saw that he can play Ne4, but it looked like Be7 was enough for defense. Only after he played it, I realized that there is a move Rd1, after which I am in a big trouble. I found eventually Ne8 and f6, but after f6 I saw that he has Ba3. I gave up the queen for the rook and bishop, still decided to fight until the bitter end.

I had a feeling that he is not quite sure what to do, he spent a lot of time thinking. When I started to believe that I can get out of it, I lost an “a” pawn.  It was a big setback. I tried to build a fortress, he started to move his king to help advance his “b” pawn. He had less time and despite of the 30 seconds increment he got less than 10 minutes, I had I few minutes more. I had a hope that he can make mistake in the time trouble. The irony is that when he actually did it, blundering the “b” pawn, I didn’t see it. He had about 5 minutes, I had about 7. Then I decided to attack his queen using the fact that his knight was pinned. As soon as I put my bishop on a6, I realized with a horror, that my bishop is not defended and I just lose it. After another move I resigned.

