This Murphy’s law can be applied very well to the yesterday’s game. I was in the new club, got White with a guy I drew with Black before. I was under attack in that game and escaped with perpetual in the queen endgame.

So, we started with Ruy Lopez, here is the game. His 5… Nxe4 was unexpected, nobody played yet Open variation against me. I knew that I have to play 6. d4, but I also knew that there are some lines, where I am without a pawn, also there is Riga variation, which I didn’t remember, so I played Re1. As a result, he got 2 bishops out of the opening.

I thought I can organize something on the kingside, but he maneuvered and eventually it was me who had to look after the kingside to  defend h3, etc.  My 20. Qf1 move was just for that, but I missed his tactics and lost a pawn. Then, trying to get some counterplay,  I made another mistake with 36. Qe4, after which he could win an exchange. He didn’t see it. We both were low on time, having less than 20 minutes each. It was one more mistake, playing with the same tempo as my opponent. That tempo was too slow for me and having complicated position with that time left wasn’t good.

Then something like a brain-cramp happened. I got distracted by the kids playing blitz loudly (they were stopped) and don’t even remember, or I forgot that I didn’t make a move or just thought too long, but suddenly I looked at the clock and saw that it’s my move and I have 5 minutes less than my opponent. I got nervous and quickly played 38. Kg2, thinking that taking on b7 is too dangerous (wrong!). Then I made that stupid Kh3 move, intended to free my bishop. It decided the game. Next 2 moves were bad too, but the game was already over.

