My opponent was unexpected as well as that I will play Black. It was an old guy, never played him before. Here is the game. It was Reti opening, where I decided to give him hanging pawns. Finally he got them, but after a few moves decided to exchange knight on e5, that gave him an isolated pawn on c4. After queens exchange I thought that I am better.

His 34. Bc3 was a mistake, allowing me to exchange bishops and attack his c4 pawn. And then came a moment, when I evaluated the position wrong. I thought that after 38… Rxd3 I win a pawn, but then his king forces my king to stay on “a” line and it’s  a draw. I didn’t realize that he has no other moves and will have to move his king out of opposition losing the game. Really “seeing ghosts”. I also thought that in the rook endgame after winning “a” pawn I should win that endgame having two  connected passed pawns. He activated his rook and according to Fritz had good drawing chances, but 43. h5 ?? took his rook out of play with an easy win for me.

