I played yesterday in the old club. I got there about 10 minutes late instead of 30-40 minutes early because of the bad traffic caused by the snow, but they didn’t start yet, I wasn’t alone.  I got White, my opponent was 1700+ rated guy, to whom I lost about 8 months ago (had a win before). Here is the game. We started 1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 and after his second move  2… f6 I almost shook my head. I even thought that it could be some home preparation, but I knew that even in the best line 3. Nxe5 Qe7 White is better, so I quickly played 3. Nxe5. His reply showed that it wasn’t preparation and it really surprised me, how it is possible for the class “B” player not to know this opening.

I get it online quite often and it’s actually openings basics.  Anyway, with a good feeling I continued trying to play accurately, still missing mate in 10, then in 4.  Anyway, he was under strong attack, I got his king into the middle of the board, having at the same time 3 spare pawns and then he played into my hands with Kc4, allowing mate. Funny that when he played 20… Kd3 I saw a mate after 21. Rd1+ Kc2 22. Rd2+ Kc1 23. O-O#, but didn’t see that 21. O-O-O+ mates faster.

