Another expression of Dr Tarrasch that is pretty much relevant. I played on Thursday in the old club, here is the game. My opponent was the guy rated first in our U2000 section. I didn’t expect him, so was completely unprepared to his Sicilian e6. My history with it is bad, -2, though in the second game I was essentially better after the opening. It was one time preparation, d3 line, I completely forgot it.
So, I played 3. c3 – delayed Alapin variation, my Bb5 move wasn’t good at all from the statistical point of view. Anyway, somehow I got myself out of the opening, he showed some activity on the queenside. I decided to play on the kingside, but after 15. Ng5 h6 16. Nh3 realized that f4-f5 is not possible because of Ng3-Nh4-Nf5, also I had to neutralize his queenside threats. Fritz prefers 15. g3 and then h4. I was holding on until he offered queens exchange.  I wasn’t too excited about it, but it looked like white queen can become pretty annoying. Fritz plays it too, still …  I thought that I can hold the position with a rook and with a king coming to help, but didn’t see the threat of 29… Rd3, had to play Rd2 and it allowed c3 breakthrough.  As a result of it I lost a pawn.
He got behind in time having less than 20 minutes vs. my 35. I got a feeling that I can expect a draw offer. Then he made a mistake allowing me to play Re7, attacking his pawns. I was counting all variations when, still suddenly, he offered a draw. He had at that moment about 17 minutes left vs my 31 minute. After the game he admitted that f6 was a mistake and a5 was a way to go. Still, he didn’t see how his king could penetrate and thought that it would rather be a draw.
I ran a few shootouts between Fritz and Crafty starting from 35. Re7, they all ended in a draw. Fritz with Black won 2 shootouts that started from 34. Rb7, Crafty drew with Black another two.
