The words in the title belong to Vladimir Kramnik,  who said that about one of his games during Dortmund 2009.
Yesterday I played with the same old guy that I played the first game in this club 4 months ago:
This game was a reversal of the first one: he played known lines, had pressure and missed the combination winning a pawn. So, Kramnik’s words here don’t mean the final position, but just all of the above, also time.  I was White, French, Tarrasch, 3…c5, here is the game.  He didn’t go for the line Karpov and Korchnoi played – 4. exd5 exd5 with isolated pawn, instead – 4…Qxd5.
I remembered only first 7 moves, then had to play on my own.
He played that line with White a year ago, so was more familiar.
The queens got exchanged pretty soon.  I missed the point where I could get the initiative due to a few passive moves that he made.  Soon I got under pressure and we both missed 25. … Bxf2+, where he was winning a pawn.  He had more time than me right from the opening, then difference increased, so we had at some moment something like 30 vs. 55 minutes. I managed finally to get a position with  R+N vs. R+N, where I had 2 pawns vs. 1 on queenside and 3 vs. 4 on kingside. I didn’t hurry to create a passed pawn because I thought it can be weak due to a presence of his king and can be lost. Some kind of dynamic equilibrium arised, he offered draw when I had 15 minutes vs. his 30, I agreed. Fritz offered 42. c5, then moving passed pawn, but in a few shootouts I ran between Fritz and Crafty this pawn was eventually lost and all the games ended in a draw.
I was pretty happy with the result, especially taking into account how bad I am playing in this tournament.

