It was a first round of the Swiss tournament. I played with the same master, as last time. Here is the game. He was much more attentive this time and in the opening I was on his territory, he played his favorite French ( I play it too, but our experiences probably are not comparable). I played Tarrasch variation and it was line I am less familiar with, just once played blitz. I know there is a sharp move 10. Nf4 here, but I thought White is better when the pawns are not exchanged, wasn’t sure about this case. After some thinking I decided not to go into complications, just play safe exf6. My knowing of this line ended right after that. His Qb6 was delaying my queenside development, so I decided to do something.
I thought about b3 (12. b3 O-O 13. Bf4 – 2nd DB choice), but then decided that a3/b4 (5th choice) is better. His e5 was unexpected, I forgot that I played it myself, it was quite some time ago, in short words – I was rusty in the opening.
Calculating exchange on e5 I thought about Bxh7 afterwards, but because h6 is under control I saw that there is nothing there. After Bxe5 I played Rb1 and sudden Ng4 was pretty shocking. I thought that Be3 was losing only pawn, but it was losing more …
The same Be3, just one move before – 16. Be3 was leading to an equal position.
Funny that it was all theory, all this losing line, it was played before. I was very upset for a couple of days, but life goes on …
