Yesterday I started in a new chess club.
People, who read my posts and comments, know the reason.
The old club was good, but I grew up and higher rated people stopped to come.
I got into Open section (there was also U1700), down three quarters of the rating list.
My opponent was very old guy, rated 100 higher.
I was Black, he started with Nf3. I was almost ready to play Grunfeld, but then seeng d4 and c4
suddenly decided to transform to Benko. I saw that the guy likes positional play and
didn’t want to compete with him on that ground.
He didn’t accept the pawn, eventually I got some initiative.
My position on the queenside looked good and I managed to create a weak pawn – b2.
Then he forced exchange of the rooks pair and queens.
His sudden exchange on f6 took me by surprise and his pawns attack in the center
required some measures from me. After that I didn’t see how I can strengthen my position
and forced rooks exchange, after which opposite-colored bishops made the result clear.
He offered a draw, I agreed.
I thought that I played pretty well, Fritz at home as always spoiled my euphoria.
It found that I missed a nice little tactics at the very end – 28… dxe5 29. fxe5 Bc3 30. Rd1 Bxe5
winning a pawn, though winning this endgame won’t be easy (if possible at all).
I made the same mistake as I did in the previous Benko game (“No pain, no gain” post).
I didn’t think about the line I didn’t like.
Why would I give him strong pawns in the center after dxe5 fxe5 – to  create a passed pawn?
But if would see that his back rank is weak then these pawns would look differently.

Yesterday I started in a new chess club.   The old club was good, but I grew up and higher rated people stopped to come.

I got into Open section (there was also U1700),  down three quarters of the rating list.  My opponent was very old guy, rated 100 higher.  I was Black, he started with Nf3.  Here is the game.  I was almost ready to play Grunfeld, but then suddenly decided to transform to Benko. I saw that the guy likes positional play and didn’t want to compete with him on that ground.  He didn’t accept the pawn,  eventually I got some initiative.  My position on the queenside looked good and I managed to create a weak pawn – b2.  Then he forced exchange of the rooks pair and queens.  His sudden exchange on f6 took me by surprise and his pawns attack in the center required some measures from me. After that I didn’t see how I can strengthen my position and forced the rooks exchange, after which opposite-colored bishops made the result clear.  He offered a draw, I agreed.

I thought that I played pretty well, but Fritz at home spoiled my euphoria (as always :)).  It found that I missed a nice little tactics at the very end – 28… dxe5 29. fxe5 Bc3 30. Rd1 Bxe5 winning a pawn, though winning this endgame won’t be easy (if possible at all).

I made the same mistake as I did in the previous Benko game (“No pain, no gain” post).  I didn’t think about the line I didn’t like. Why would I give him strong pawns in the center after dxe5 fxe5 – to  create a passed pawn?  But if I would see that his back rank is weak then these pawns would look differently.

