On Sunday I played an OTB game in my club.  The guy was rated ~250 lower than me, said “wow” learning about my rating, but didn’t hesitate at the board at all. He pressed pretty well playing white Giuoco Piano (Italian game), I had to defend most of the time and finally it went into the drawn R+2p vs. R+2p endgame. Suddenly (he told me later that he thought he has an advantage and played for win) he made a mistake allowing me to activate my rook, so finally I got R+P vs. R.  After suffering a terrible loss in summer in the endgame R+Ps vs. R+Ps I learned Lucena and Philidor positions. I got Lucena only once ( out of ~3000 games online) before that and I drew it.

So, now I get an excellent chance to demonstrate my knowledge.  OK, I carefuly move the bishop pawn with the king,  all games were finished and a few people are watching.  Here I am, proud of myself, doing all by the book and reaching the position, where my nice bridge is almost built.  There is “still” about 5 minutes on the clock. Instead of checking my king and allowing me to finish my bridge ( Rf7+ Kg4  Rg7+ Rg5 ) he suddenly plays Kd2-d3. 

I think, how I should proceed and see Re4. There is something that I don’t like about it, but time goes, I have to move, so I do it. Suddenly he with a little “boom” takes my pawn …

I was humiliated, I came home and felt sick. The worst draw I ever had.  I spoiled my Lucena.

I think I was concentrated too much on the “bridge” part of the board and forgot about the pawn.  Maybe time was the factor too, having let’s say 20 minutes I would probably see it. Also, simple things like this I see OK in the middlegame having a little time (pattern recognition), but this is an endgame pattern (with the king), there are no such positions in the middlegame. 

So, somehow I should get that experience of playing endgames.  And of course, I should study them, this game was a pretty convincing argument.

