I never played with this guy before, it was a 30+ aged man. He played Italian game, here it is. His “novelty” 9. e5 didn’t look good to me and yes, his d4 pawn got under attack.

I saw 14… Nxd4 and decided that it’s better than boring Ne7 and that I probably will be able to defend that spare “d” pawn. He didn’t go for a principal 17. Qxb2, I saw 17. … Rb8 19. Qxa7 Rxb2, he saw that too and probably didn’t like it. I considered Nb4 when played Ba6 and thought that I can answer Be2, d3. Then after d3 I started to see a5, but played Rd4 because I miscalculated and thought that f3 gave him an additional strike on d3 with a king. Anyway he gave me a chance to win the piece, not seeing Rd7 and Bf5 I think, otherwise he would play 24. a3. The game was basically over after that and rooks exchange made a win technical.

